Foot Care

Fit feet – Steps to healthy foot care

Why is foot care so important when you have diabetes?

When living with diabetes, it is important to have good blood glucose control. Having too much glucose in the blood can eventually lead to many problems, including foot problems. Foot problems are common in people with diabetes and can lead to a serious condition known as neuropathy, damage to the nerves.

When the nerves are not functioning properly, people with neuropathy are less likely to feel a pebble inside their sock, a blister on their foot, or other foot injuries. Foot problems can also occur from wearing ill-fitting shoes, stepping on sharp objects, or even normal everyday activities.

Someone taking care of feet Diabetes can also affect the amount of blood flow in the legs and the feet, known as peripheral vascular disease. Numbness and low blood flow in the feet can also lead to problems. When foot injuries are left unnoticed and untreated, even if they are small foot injuries, they can quickly become infected. This can lead to a medical condition known as ulcers.

Walking with foot ulcers and not properly treating the injury will prevent healing. This puts you at risk for developing gangrene, the death or decay of body tissues, which may lead to amputations.

Daily foot care will help you to prevent these problems.



Someone taking care of feet

Le Soin des Pieds

Étapes à suivre pour des pieds en bonne santé

Pourquoi les soins des pieds sont-ils tellement importants chez les diabétiques?

Il est important que les personnes atteintes de diabète maîtrisent leur glycémie de manière adéquate. En effet, une quantité trop élevée de glucose dans le sang peut engendrer de nombreux problèmes, y compris au niveau des pieds. Les problèmes de pied sont courants chez les diabétiques et peuvent entraîner une maladie grave qui provoque des lésions nerveuses, la neuropathie.

Les nerfs des personnes souffrant de neuropathie ne fonctionnent pas correctement; elles ressentent moins facilement la présence d'un petit caillou à l'intérieur de leur chaussette, d'une ampoule ou d'une autre blessure au pied. Les problèmes de pied surviennent aussi lorsqu'on porte des chaussures mal ajustées, lorsqu'on marche sur des objets coupants et même pendant les activités quotidiennes habituelles.

Someone taking care of feet Le diabète peut aussi affecter le débit sanguin au niveau des jambes et des pieds, un problème connu sous le nom de « maladie vasculaire périphérique ». Un engourdissement ainsi qu'un débit sanguin réduit au niveau des pieds peuvent également engendrer des problèmes. Si les blessures aux pieds ne sont ni remarquées ni soignées, même s'il s'agit de petites lésions, elles peuvent rapidement s'infecter. C'est alors qu'un ulcère peut survenir.

Marcher avec des ulcères aux pieds sans soigner correctement les lésions empêchera la cicatrisation. Cela vous met à risque de développer la gangrène, c'est-à-dire la nécrose ou la dégradation des tissus corporels, ce qui peut mener à une amputations.

Des soins quotidiens vous aideront à éviter ces problèmes.



Someone taking care of feet